Moms and Monks

I stumbled upon the Momastery blog a few months ago and was immediately grateful for Glennon’s honest writings.  Her posts have encouraged me on multiple occasions.  However, it wasn’t until I read her explanation behind the term Momastery, found here, that my heart was sold- sold on the importance of women sharing our experiences and inspired to strive to regularly share my own.

Glennon writes that motherhood is like a monastery, that while we live in community with other mothers, repeating the same tasks day in and day out, we often feel alone, solitary in the midsts of poopy diapers and temper tantrums.  And while our kids are different, our schedules are different, our philosophies of parenting are different, our fears and joys are universal.  “Momastery is a place to get lost and found. It’s a place to love and be loved. It’s a touch stone. It’s a place to listen and be listened to. It’s a place to make mistakes and say I’m sorry. It’s a place to practice forgiveness.”

I’ll admit, since reading the idea of how being a mom is similar to being a monk, I’ve found a deeper level of meaning to my days.  I’m striving to look at the repetitive tasks as spiritual discipline, as a way to practice love regardless of how I feel at the moment.  I’m striving to look at the mundane afternoon of playing legos and monster trucks as God with us, innocence shared and the simple enjoyed.  While my days are far from glamorous, they are beautiful and completely mine, given to me and for me.

And so at 5pm tonight as I look in the fridge for what to make for dinner, as my kids pull at my legs and whine that they are hungry, I’ll think about all the other moms who are doing the same thing.  And I will think, “I am not alone.  We are in this together.”

Leave a Reply

